How to Save

This page explains how to save the game in The Legend of Zelda for NES, as well as in the 3DS Virtual Console version and the Nintendo Switch Online version.

Contents

How to Save in Nintendo Switch Online Version

In the Nintendo Switch Online version, it is recommended to open the Suspend Menu (check the bottom right of the screen to see how to open it) and create a Suspend Point.

But if you want to save the game the old-fashioned way, first you need to connect two controllers. (For information about connecting controllers to the Nintendo Switch, see Setting Up Controllers at Nintendo.com's official web page.) Then, on controller 1, press START to go to the items screen. Then press Up and A on controller 2. Then on controller 1, press SELECT to go to "SAVE", then press START to save. You will go back to the game select screen. When you choose your saved game, if you were in a dungeon when you saved, you will start the game in the first room of that dungeon. If you were in the overworld when you saved, you will start in the area where you first began the game.

How to Save in 3DS Virtual Console Version

To save the game, press START to go to the items screen. Then hold L and R, then press Y to switch to the second controller. Press Up and A. Then hold L and R again and press Y to switch back to the first controller. Now you can press SELECT to go to "SAVE", then press START to save. You will go back to the game select screen. When you choose your saved game, if you were in a dungeon when you saved, you will start the game in the first room of that dungeon. If you were in the overworld when you saved, you will start in the area where you first began the game.

How to Save on an NES

On controller 1, press START to go to the items screen. Then press Up and A on controller 2. Then on controller 1, press SELECT to go to "SAVE", then press START to save. You will go back to the game select screen. When you choose your saved game, if you were in a dungeon when you saved, you will start the game in the first room of that dungeon. If you were in the overworld when you saved, you will start in the area where you first began the game.